The Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League (Bengali:বাংলাদেশ কৃষক শ্রমিক আওয়ামী লীগ Bangladesh Krishôk Sromik Aoami Lig) was a political amalgmation of the Awami Leaguewith the Krishak Sramik Party that supported President Sheikh Mujibur Rahman in governing Bangladesh. It was established in June 1975; other political parties were outlawed at the time.[1]BAKSAL dissolved after Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's assassination on August 15, 1975, and the KSP and League once again became independent political parties. The party advocated state socialism. BAKSAL was dissolved and the part of the 5th amendment to the Bangladeshi constitution that made the party the sole legal party was scrapped after Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was killed.

Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League (BAKSAL)

Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League (BAKSAL) the only legally recognised party of Bangladesh founded on 7 June 1975 following the Fourth Amendment to the constitution of Bangladesh. Under the Fourth Amendment (Article 117A), Bangabandhu sheikh mujibur rahman was entrusted with the responsibility of forming a new 'national party' which would try, on the one hand, to tackle the social, political and economic destabilisation consequent upon the war of liberation, and on the other, reconstruct the nation from the debris of the war. Thus authorised, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman formed a national party which he named Bangladesh Krishak Sramik Awami League. The rules of BAKSAL required all other parties and associations including various services and forces to join the national party and work unitedly in fighting corrosive forces and in rebuilding the nation. Elaborating on the various aspects, scopes and prospects of BAKSAL, Sheikh Mujib characterised it as a 'second revolution'.